Back in 1922, the first congregation began with prayer meetings and Sunday School held in the homes of concerned Christians.
The Sam Kinzer family, with the leadership of the Holy Spirit, created the desire and fostered concern among Christians in the community to organize the Fellowship with Sister Sara B. Cox as leader. Under her direction, the small church at Tenth and Kercher Streets was erected.
Reverend Lillie McGuire became the pastor in 1938. When she accepted the pastorate, the church was in debt about $900.00 and the congregation was only paying interest on their note. The building was badly in need of repairs, but there was no money in the treasury. To raise the needed money, members of the congregation, spearheaded by the “Ladies Aid,” engaged in many projects.
Sometime later a proposal was made to remodel the building. In April of 1942, the job was begun. While the remodeling was going on, it was known that there would come a time when the building would not meet the needs of the congregation. Later, two lots were purchased on Kercher Street and in 1949 construction on a new church began. The building was dedicated on April 21, 1951.
Reverend Frank Fultz came to pastor the church in August 1953, when Reverend McGuire retired. The congregation continued to grow and the need for a larger facility was necessary. The group purchased 2.5 acres of land on the east side of Miamisburg and a building fund was started.
In June 1963, the congregation moved into its new facility at the corner of Lindsey Avenue and Heincke Road. Reverend Harold Boyer was the speaker for the dedication and Reverend Francis Jolliff offered the prayer.
Reverend Fultz resigned after 20 years of service at First Church. In 1973, Reverend Glen Bevis came and served until 1976. In August, 1976, Reverend Glen Ball came to pastor the congregation. During his pastorate, he led the congregation to greater spiritual maturity. During the latter part of his ministry, the church was able to burn the mortgage.
Pastor Mark McCain came to the church in March, 1985, when Pastor Ball retired. Through the ministry of Pastor Mark McCain, Miamisburg First Church of God has been blessed with tremendous growth. In 1990, the church expanded its facilities to create a gymnasium and rooms for Christian Education. This allowed the church to use sports as an avenue to bring so many in our community closer to God! Through God’s faithfulness and great blessing, along with the faithfulness of His people, God has allowed the church to expand its property to the 16.8 acres across the street for future development. Baseball diamonds, basketball courts, and a shelter house have all been built as the first step to future development for a new church facility across the street. These sports facilities have been another tool in bringing people in the community not only into a church, but into a personal relationship with Jesus Christ! On September 17, 2006, Pastor McCain said goodbye after twenty one and a half years of service!
Pastor David Lynch, who has had over 50 years of experience in the ministry, served as an interim pastor while our church searched for the next person that God had in store to lead us into the future. We were thankful to have a man with such great experience and such a heart to serve Christ to lead and guide us as we embarked on a new stage in our church’s history.
In August 2007, Pastor Roy Maxwell came to serve our congregation as Senior Pastor. The church in Miamisburg continues to grow through serving Him under Pastor Maxwell’s leadership.
In April 2017, Pastor Roy Maxwell retired as Senior Pastor. Pastor Jerry Reynolds is currently serving as Interim Pastor as we search for the person God has chosen to be the next Senior Pastor.